Whats New

Macklemore & President Obama Speak On Addiction

Macklemore and President Obama have released a new video following the rapper’s visit to The White House on May 12th. Taking part in the Weekly Address, the GRAMMY Award-winning artist spoke with the leader of the nation about the epidemic of opiate addiction in America.

“I’m here with President Obama because I take this personally,” said Macklemore during the address. “I abused prescription drugs and battled addiction. If I hadn’t gotten the help I needed when I needed it, I might not be here today.”

Earlier this year, the Obama administration proposed $1.1 billion for “new mandatory funding over two years to expand access to treatment for prescription drug abuse and heroin use.” Macklemore’s sit down with Obama is part of a one-hour documentary set to air this Summer on MTV.

Watch below.

Leave a Reply

